Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scoliosis stories wanted

Hello,

My daughter was diagnosed with scoliosis at the age of 7. She is now 13, and undergoing physical therapy 5 days a week, along with being braced full time. We have turned to bracing, along with "alternative" therapies over the last 6 years as a way to hopefully avoid surgery-even when it was advised by several orthopedists that we were making poor decisions.

I am also a writer, and am currently writing a piece on scoliosis and patients' and parents' experiences/stories with alternative therapies-even when the orthopedists advised against it. I am also interested in patients who have had surgery after trying alternative treatment that had failed. This piece is not going to be published, but rather will be used for graduate school. If I intend to publish it in the future, I would keep all privacy needed.

Ideally I am looking for stories/experiences from those living in the NYC area, but will welcome anyone willing to share.

Thank you so much.
    B.Smith

I can also be reached at bas2101@columbia.edu

Okay I see.

But how can a bunch of nonscientific anecdotes constitute research?

If clinicians and scientists in this field are hard-pressed to publish meaningful studies on mainstream treatment modalities, what can you add, even just as a graduate school thesis/dissertation, about alternate treatments that the purveyors of said treatments can't add themselves?

I'm not trying to discourage you. I'm just wondering about what you hope to accomplish.
    Sharon, mother of identical twin girls with scoliosis

No island of sanity.

Question: What do you call alternative medicine that works?
    Answer: Medicine

"We are all African."

Comment

First of all, I am not a scientist, nor do I claim to be such-I am a writer.