Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• $$$ for surgery

well my friends,
    at this point I don't know if I will get the procedures done. My year max for my insurance is 50,000 dollars, and it will not cover all the surgery expenses. My Dr. is afraid that he will not get paid and his assistant call me today saying that he will do it if I pay out of pocket 18,000 dollars for his service. I understand this is a huge compromise he is making, but I am a student and I have a minimum pay part-time job, so I don't have that kind of money, not even 10% of that... I get my insurance through school, so I should have know better...
    I don;t know what to do. I guess there is nothing I can do at this point. If any of one know about medical grants or something like that, please any information will be appreciated.
    Pilar
    Scoliosis Diagnosed at age 12. Wore Milwaukee brace for 2 years.
    Now age 32
    Pre-op curves: C86-T98-L37
    Surgery date: 12/6/2010 (anterior) 12/10/2010 (posterior)
    Fused T2 to L5 with thoracoplasty.
    Post-op curves: C48-T47-L17
    Dr. Robert Pashman
    Cedars Sinai, Los Angeles, CA
    Before and after xrays :
    http://www.scoliosis.org/forum/attac...5&d=1292969215

I donno what to tell ya. If you're in Los Angeles like your location says, well Arnie just line item cut a LOT of healthcare spending for people in need. I do not know about any federal stuff either.

I don't know if you are religious or not, but you could go to some churches in your area and see if they can spread the word and get you some help. When I was operated on my family had to pay about $60,000 (roughly) and churches from all over donated to help out. It was amazing how far donations were coming from, it was a real blessing.

So you might try that avenue, even if you're not overly religious a church may know of some agencies that may help out too.
    Surgeries July 26th & August 3rd 1983 (12 years old)
    Still have 57 degree curve