Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scared but scheduled for T4-pelvis Fusion Oct 2015

I'm new here and so very scared!

My scoliosis was diagnosed in my early 20's, by a dressmaker of all people! Over the years, the curve has progressed and so has the pain. I take some sort of pain reliever (acetaminophen or ibuprofen) every day and use a heating pad often. Now that I have a surgical date, I'm beginning to question if the pain is bad enough to go through with it.

While I don't have a specific surgical plan yet, I am scheduled for a 2 day procedure, Anterior Fusion L4 to S1 and Posterior Fusion T4 to Pelvis.

The last doctor I saw (not the one doing the surgery) told me it wasn't a matter of if I have surgery, but when. He said if I don't have it, my rib cage will end up on my hip.

According to my X-rays and MRI, I have a lumbar scoliosis with a rotary component convex left measuring 60 degrees and a compensatory lower thoracic curvature convex right measuring 24 degrees. I was also told that I have significant subluxation of L2 laterally to the left with respect to L3. Mild spinal stenosis. Encroachment of the neural foramina on the left specifically T7/T8-T10/T11. Large disc bulges involving the cervical spine. Kyphosis, not sure what degree.

I hate to say it, but I don't completely understand it all! I do know that, if possible, I avoid activities that I know will cause me discomfort/pain (standing, walking, etc). I've shrunk 2 inches. The curve is progressing. I now get a "sensation" down my left leg all the way to my toes. I had a CT Myelogram, but didn't get the results explained because I was referred to another surgeon.