Nerve Theory

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nerve Theory

I'm not an expert on nerves. All I have to go on is what I'm experiencing as I recover from surgery. But I've made up some theories of nerves. Please feel free to correct me if I'm wrong. I had a lot of nerve pain immediately after surgery and had no idea what was going on. Unfortunately, I didn't know how to explain the pain and at the time so I didn't seek help in handling it. The nerve pain in my ribs was the biggest pain I had, even more so than all my drilled bones. So when I had to take a walk down the hospital hall, I could hardly walk. It wasn't the bones bothering me, it was the nerves but I didn't know how to explain the pain at the time. Now I know the difference between bone pain, nerve pain, muscle and tissue pain. Each is handled differently, with different medications and treatment.

Since my surgery involved "untwisting" my twisted spine, that meant that nerves were stretched. Because of my injury before surgery, I wore a very tight brace 24 hours a day, only taking it off when I showered, for two and half months. With the tight brace on, I breathed fairly shallow and my waist and rib cage tightened up a lot. After surgery, I had trouble inhaling because of the restrictions I'd placed on myself before surgery. This increased my rib pain post-op. By week 4 after surgery, I was in agony and even went to the emergency room because I didn't know what was going on.

I discovered that taking big, deep breaths stretched my rib cage out and helped the nerves stretch to where they needed to be. My rib pain dramatically decreased with deep breathing exercises. I wish I had done deep breathing exercises before surgery. That would have helped post-op a lot. I also started using a heating pad held around my ribs post-op and that helped greatly and was very soothing. I'm at 4 1/2 months now and still use the heating pad on my right side any time my ribs ache.