Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Surgery Next Week!

Hi Everyone,
    I'm new to the site, so please forgive me if I am posting in the wrong place or in the wrong way. I just joined, but have to say thanks for all the reading I have been able to do before I created a login and password. Everyone who has shared their experiences has helped me in so many ways - and I don't even know (most of) you! I formally joined to say thanks for sharing and also to share my story so it might help the next person coming along.
    So here is the short story: diagnosed at 19 -no idea what the curves were, but because I had stopped growing at 5'10", they said it would not progress and I was good to go. By my late 20's I noticed some changes and began having regular x-rays. I am currently 49 and my curves are : left thoracic 52ish, right lumbar 59 with significant rotation in the lumbar area. My left scapula sticks way out and I have a right lumbar hump. About 4 yrs ago I had a few consults in the local area (Atlanta) and then went up to see Dr Bridwell about 2 yrs ago. I have seen him 3 times and , long story short, am now scheduled for T3/4 to sacrum fixation next week! I am osteopenic and have also been taking Forteo since December. I'm likely to be on it for at least 6 months postop too. Dr Bridwell felt that my scoliosis, given the progression in the last 20 yrs, would progress significantly in the next 10 yrs. Also, because of the bone density issue, there may come a time when surgery might not even be a possibility. So it's pretty much now or never! Anyway, I'm pretty much scared to death, but am trying my best to maintain a positive attitude and just keep putting on foot in front of the other all the way to the preOp room....