Hip pain...any treatments?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hip pain...any treatments?

Does anyone know of a treatment for scoliosis related hip pain? i have 70/35 curves and although physical therapy has greatly lessened my back pain, I seem to have increasing hip pain that is really bothersome. Anyone else had successful treatment for this besides surgery?
    Pam, age 49
    Thoracolumbar curves 80 and 40 corrected to 20 degrees
    April 20, 2012 surgery with Dr. Lenke
    T-3 to sacrum

hi Twinmom
    i do not know which part of your spine is causing the worst of your pain...
    i have been experimenting with different types of injections for several years now...
    the only ones that have helped my hip pain, which in my case is largely from herniated discs, plus from my curves (T42, L61 last checked) have been sacroiliac joint injections...
    it makes no sense as to why those shots help my lower back/hip pain, when epidural shots, facet blocks, nerve ablation, trigger point injections, botox in lower spine, and other shots didn't help me....it doesn't make sense because the SI joints are a distance way from my curves...i do not know if the shots are helping because my hip pain is related to my disc damage (severe)...i am just SO grateful we finally found any shots that help me (besides the botox shots i get in upper spine that helps freeze upper back muscles so they cannot spasm)...SI joint shots are the only thing that have ever helped relieve the lower back and hip pain i have daily...

all i can suggest is to try working with a pain management doctor or a physiatrist to see if there are any treatments that might help you...and don't give up if the first tx doesn't help...

best of luck...
    jess

Comment

Question regarding pain management physicians: Do most require a battery of tests before treating you? or how do they diagnosis what meds are needed for your pain?