Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 40 degrees!

Hi this is my First time here!
    Im 22 now and still i know the degree of my curvature when i done chest xray sa radiologist readings 40 dergrees cob so then i go to a Othopedic and said my scoliosis is mild.. so he refer me to a PT. but he wants me to undergo another xrY THIS OCTBER 2011
    coz he cant read it all he want full neck to my hips xray...

heres my xray pls comment,,,

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphot...1_691394_n.jpg
    Last edited by Jeanne Lee; 05-11-2011, 11:29 PM.

Hi there,

I checked out your x-ray and I don't see any curve on it anywhere that approaches 40 degrees. I would agree that your scoliosis is very mild (guessing considerably under 20 degrees at most in the upper spine). Certainly nothing close to needing any surgery. That's great news!

If you are in pain PT would be the first thing to try. It can be extremely helpful.

Good luck!
    Gayle, age 50
    Oct 2010 fusion T8-sacrum w/ pelvic fixation
    Feb 2012 lumbar revision for broken rods @ L2-3-4
    Sept 2015 major lumbar A/P revision for broken rods @ L5-S1

mom of Leah, 15 y/o, Diagnosed '08 with 26* T JIS (age 6)
    2010 VBS Dr Luhmann Shriners St Louis
    2017 curves stable/skeletely mature

also mom of Torrey, 12 y/o son, 16* T, stable

Comment

I agree with Gayle that your curve does not look 40 degrees.

I also agree with the Orthopedist that it would be nice to see your neck in the X Ray. Do you have neck pain? Does your head sit midline over your torso? Do you have full range of motion of your neck?
      Resilience

treated w Milwaukee Brace FT for 3 yrs
      currently 46 with 35 LL and 40 RT curves

8 yr old diagnosed w Scoli 8/10 with 27 LL and 27 RT
      11/10 TLSO Full Time
      4/11 22 LL and 24 RT on waiting list for VBS at Shriners Phila
      12/11 curves still in the 20s but now has some rib cage changes from the brace