Degree of correction

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Degree of correction

After seeing the results of my bending xrays, I was wondering what degree of correction I might end up with.
    What degree of correction did you start with?
    What did your bending xrays indicate your level of correction would be?
    And finally what is your actual degree of curvature after surgery?
    My surgery is one week from tomorrow, and I am getting more and more nervous by the minute!

Hi Jenny,
    I have a 72 degree thoracic curve and I believe a 44 degree lumbar. I know that when I bent to the side the lumbar was about 11 degrees but I don't remember what the thoracic was. Good luck on your surgery next week. Can't wait to keep up with all of you on the "other side".
    Janet
    36 year young cardiac RN
    old curve C 29, T 70, L 50
    new curve C 7, T 23, L 20
    Surgery June 11, UCH, Dr. Cronen T2-L5, posterior
    Revision December 20 L5-S1 with pelvic fixation
    and Osteotomy to L3 at Tampa General Hospital

Comment

Thank you Janet. Are you as nervous as I am? What are your plans for going back to work afterwards?

Comment

Jenny,
        I am nervous, excited and saddened all at the same time, like a emotional roller coaster! I hope to return to my job in 12 weeks. That is my only plan right now. I will have to work on my endurence at home and just pray I will be able to return. Otherwise, I may have to look into another type of nursing. I hope I don't have to but if I am not healed enough in that time to do my job, that is what I will have to do. I only have 12 weeks of sick time banked and do not think I can afford to live on 60% STD or LTD till I am healed. I believe that they do have to hold a position for 3 mo FMLA and 3 mo GML. Good Luck!
        Janet
        36 year young cardiac RN

Comment

JennyRN

Hang on. What are these "bending Xrays" and what do they show? What direction does one bend?