Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What do I do when she has the flu?

Hello Anyone,
    My daughter's only been using the brace since early August, so I'm still learning stuff. She's up to about 20 hrs/wk tho and doing quite well.
    Night before last she woke very hot and saying her stomach hurt. I got her up and helped her off w/the brace just in time for her to (almost) make it to the bathroom. She continued on through the night and into the next day, barfing about every half hour! There was no way I was going to expect her to wear her brace during all that! She was running a fever too, and she's already usually hot in the brace.
    Now this morning I feel like we're going to have to start all over, working up the hours etc., and I'm wondering how bad was it to let her keep it off that long? What do other people do at such times?
    Donna
    Donna
    Mom to 2 biological kids, grown & Married and 2 adopted kids, 6 & 11

Hi there,
    I really don't think you should fret about having taken the brace off while your daughter was so poorly - I'm sure most people would have done the same (I certainly would) and I really don't think you've done any harm.
    All you need to do is get her back into it as soon as her temp comes down enough to tolerate it - you may have gone a couple of steps back with building up the hours but I don't think you're right back to the beginning. It's not all new this time so your daughter will probably get back into the swing of wearing it quite quickly.
    Good luck,
    Lorrie

Comment

Hi: