Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dr. Michael Neuwirth

Hello,

I am new to the forum and wanted to know if anyone has had surgery with Dr. Neuwirth. I recently saw him as a second opinion and advised that I have surgery as well. I have a right dorsolumbar cuve. It is currently at 39 degrees and has an apex at T7. He wanted to fuse 4-5 vertebrae in the thoracic region through a anterior approach.

Basically, I wanted to know if anyone else has the same curve, if anyone has seen him and your opinion on my situation. I am 24 years old and experience minimal mid and lower back pain that feels muscle related, but I suppose the muscles surrounding the curve.

Best,
    Lori

I thought that surgeons don’t recommend surgery unless a person’s curve is over 45 degrees. I would get check ups with a surgeon for two years and see if the curve gets bigger. If the curve doesn't get bigger and you are not in bad pain - definitely do not get surgery. I don't think anyone going in for this surgery knows how devastating it is. We know it a painful and slow recovery but nothing could have prepared me for this surgery. I was 44 yrs old when I had surgery and this Thursday it will be a year I was in great shape and great health, my surgeon said because I am such good shape I should recovery quickly, boy was he wrong. I got staph infection from the surgery and I have to go back into surgery and have the hardware removed. Because staph attaches itself to any implants you can only get rid of it by removing the hardware. I went to one of the best surgeons, chief of spine surgery at NYU Medical Center and Joint Disease. Let surgery be your last resort.

Sue

Comment