Turned a pre-op corner

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Turned a pre-op corner

Today I went to my rhematologist (in addition to scoliosis, I also have arthritis), and felt like I turned a corner. We were discussing how my medications will change before the surgery, and I was completely calm. As we scheduled my next appointment, I realized that next time I'm in that office, it will all be over, and I'll be almost 3 months post op. Wow.

Many of you know I've been freaking out a bit about my upcoming surgery, but I seem to have calmed down fairly suddenly. Until a few days ago I was constantly worrying about it, planning for it, making lists, and researching. Finally I have a pain medicine so I can get some sleep and get on with my life. I feel like I've done all the prep I can, and it's time to just get done all the academic work I can (I'm a grad student) and get going on my thesis so I have less to worry about as I recover. I'm also planning fun weekends over the next 7 weeks before surgery - going on a "training weekend" of biking and hiking in NH, Vegas, and a big dinner party for my close friends the weekend before. I'm also being good about going to yoga weekly, so I feel like I have something built into my schedule that's just for me.

I guess I wanted to thank all of you, because you are likely a huge reason I feel that I've "completed" my research, and have become so calm, most likely because I feel like I know what to expect. Every question I've asked, no matter how trivial or silly, you have answered for me. And as each question has been answered, I have calmed down. So, really, thank you so much!
    2000 34*L/39*T
    2007 44*L/53*T

12.3.07 Posterior Spinal Fusion T4-T12
    (initially planned T4-L1)
    12.18.07 11*L/10*T

23 years old