just diagnosed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• just diagnosed

My daughter Morgan is 13...during a recent yearly physical exam a small curve was found in her lower back........we were sent to the hospital for x-rays. The results came back today and they said she had a 11 degree curve and that we needed to come back in 3 months for re evaluation and possibly another x-ray.
    I am very concerned and started immediately reading about it and i am very nervous. I don't know if I should wait the 3 months or see someone about it......like an orthopedic doctor. Has anyone had any similar experiences and what did you do? I am new to this and really don't know what to do any guidance would be greatly appreciated!
    Thank you,
    Tonia
    TRRYS

Hi Tonia,

First, take a deep breath and try not to absorb everything all at once. What you read about is typically extreme cases. Your daughter is not at all extreme. In fact, always remember there is a +/- 5 degree margin of error in reading an xray (even when the same person is doing the measurements).

For peace of mind, I would schedule your 3 month appointment with a pediatric orthopedist who specializes in scoliosis treatment (and who sees many patients who are like your daughter). Your daughter will continue to be as active and participate in activities as much as she'd like (unless she has other medical issues). Having scoliosis doesn't change who she is. I hope you will be able to see that she's going to be just fine. Good luck and let us know how you and she are doing.
    Carmell