• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• please help - exercise ball

hi all my dear friends...
    I have joined this forum now ...
    I am a 22 years old Girl ... I have got scoliosis with the 40 degree curve
    I used brace when I was 17 for the first time ... but it didnt help me ... because I hated the brace and didnt use it much !!
    I also didnt do any exercise or special sport ... so bad ...
    2 years ago, Dr told me not to put on the brace anymore ... So I left the brace ...
    Now I live with no brace or sugery ... but the important is that I DO EXERCISE AND SPORTS LIKE SWIMMING...

I have now one Question :
    do you know about exercise ball ( or physio ball or stable ball ) ... ??
    I have one but I dont know if this thing is good for me or not ??
    Can anyone help me and share the idea with me ??
    do u have any practise which I can do ...?
    thank you.
    22 years old - girl - 40 degree curve - to the left - no surgery yet

Hello,
    I am no expert on this, but I used the exercise ball when I did physical therapy. So here are some exercises they had me do:

Lay on the ball on your stomach and put arms out in front of you and balance, then lift and stretch opposite foot to arm (i.e. left arm out and right leg out).

Lay your back on the ball with feet on floor and arms behind your head, sit up as far as you comfortably can.

Sit on ball lift 1-2lb. weights straight over head while keeping shoulders down.

I hope this helps. If you have any questions let me know.

Leslie

Comment

hi ...
      thank you for the reply
      but I didnt understand this ... please tell me more so that I can understand the exercise. thank you.
      Sit on ball lift 1-2lb. weights straight over head while keeping shoulders down.

Comment

Ck this website for excellent excercises on the stability ball esp. for scoliosis:
        http://www.iscoliosis.com/

http://www.iscoliosis.com/video.html...ocookie=56.wmv

Good luck. Cynthia

Comment