Some questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Some questions

Hi. This is my first time posting. I have some questions about the possbility of surgery. I am 25 years old and was diagnosed with scoliosis at age 9. I wore a brace for about 1.5 years and after that surgery was recommended. However, my parents got second opinions and opted for me to not have the surgery. Since that time I have not done much in terms of treatment.

I have minimal pain so that is not too much of an issue. However, the appearance of it affects me greatly. My self-confidence is rather low due to this. I am very short (around 5 feet) so with the loss of height and the hump I feel very conscious about the way I look.

Further my grandmother who has scoliosis has a very large curve and has a hunchback. I do not want that to happen to me and have recently been looking into my options. I have always been led to believe that having surgery as an adult was highly unheard of but this forum has shown me that is not the case. However I do know that there are many pros and cons to the surgery and I am wondering do the pros outweigh the cons? Is the surgery safe?

I am also worried because I have completed graduate school about a year and a half ago and am in the start of my career and do not have opportunity to not work for several months. Is it possible to return to work soon after surgery?

Any guidance with this would be greatly appreciated. I'm sorry that this post was so long.