Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Big Question...

Hi everyone,

All the answers, stories, and everything have been incredibly helpful as I decide what in the world I'm going to do. Still waiting for my flexibility x-ray appointment on 10/17 and then a second opinion before I take the plunge. But there's a question I've been dying to know that I can't really find an answer to...

Those of you that have had surgery, have any of you returned to "normal" so to speak? In otherwords, no more pain, no constant thoughts of the hardware, aches, pains, etc.? Just wondering if people have achieved a point where they simply stopped having post-op symptoms and aches and are simply "fine" now with no issues. Or if not, are you getting close?

I have an S curve - upper 50 degree, lower about 43 degree. They are trying to only fuse the top part...

Brian
    32 y/o male
    S curve - upper, 50 degrees, lower 43 degrees
    Waiting and watching after seeing 2 doctors...

Hi Brian,

That's one of those questions that we probably can't answer. We can only tell you our experiences, and each one of them will most likely be different. And none will compare to your experience.

Before my surgery, I could never get a good nights sleep. I was always in pain. I would toss, turn and squirm until I would find a position that I could deal with, then sleep a little and repeat the process all night long. Now I can lay in bed and have no pain. For me that's been one of the biggest assets from this surgery.

With each passing month, I become less and less aware of the hardware. I know it's there, but it's not an issue for me. I can sit for long periods of time without pain, which I couldn't do pre-op. I now walk without a limp caused from the pain after being on my feet for several hours.