Really bad shoulder pain

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Really bad shoulder pain

Hello all! I was wondering if any of you have shoulder pain with your scoliosis. I have a 35 degree thoracic curve. My doctor told me that my scoliosis caused bursitis in my shoulder. At first, it was just my shoulder blade that hurt, but now, the pain goes all the way around my entire shoulder including the collar bone. It's very painful. I took 2 advil this morning, but it didn't help. Also, my arm is tingly and it hurts as well. Does anyone else have this problem or know of anything I should do?

Thanks!

Michelle
    Chemist, 30

1998- 18 degrees
    2003- 33 degrees
    2005- 37 degrees
    2006- 44 degrees
    May 2007- 47 degrees
    December 2007 - 50 degrees X-ray

Surgery May 27, 2008
    Fused T1 to L2
    Curve corrected to 15 degrees X-ray

I have that sort of pain almost every day. I'm an accountant and work at a desk and computer. When I do a lot of typing or moving around of papers my shoulders really start to hurt. It is like a burning sensation in the muscle and it makes my arm tingle. The shoulder/neck pain starts even when I'm walking. It's like the weight of my arms is what is causing the pain. My doctor said I have a degenerated disc in my neck.

The one thing that works well for the pain is deep tissue massages. My husband has very strong hands and after about 15 minutes of hard pressure massaging, it feels much better.

I hope this helps you,

Melissa

Comment

Melissa,

Thanks for the reply. I appreciate it. I'm sorry you have to deal with pain. Our pains sound similar. My pain hits just by walking too. Walking around the mall is so painful, even though I'm only carrying a 2 pound purse. What is the degree of your curve? Have you seen a doctor for the pain? I need to start getting massages again.

Thanks again!

Michelle
      Chemist, 30

1998- 18 degrees
      2003- 33 degrees
      2005- 37 degrees
      2006- 44 degrees