respiratory problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• respiratory problems

Greetings.. This is my first time on the website. I'm interested to see if anyone else has respiratory problems because of the scoliosis.

I'm 48 with severe scoliosis. I've had 3 surgeries, at 11, 12 & 13 yrs old. I had rods but they were removed due to staff infection. My curve started at 156, but is now around 96.

I can't wear a bikini, but getting along well. The only problem, if you can call it that is that my lung capacity is only about 30%. I'm on a bi-pap s/t at night. Is anyone else out there dealing with respiratory problems...

Have a great day!!! What a great idea having this forum...

Kathy

respiratory problems

I am 61 and had revision surgery, instrumentation,and thoracoplasty 18 months ago. Before surgery I was very frightened by getting so easily out of breath just walking and talking. I was so crumpled that a full meal would cause shortness of breath! I had a stress test and the cardiologist said nothing was wrong with my heart;the scoliosis (80deg thoracic) was constricting my breathing. Being a nurse-anesthetist I could see what was down the pike for me and I didn't want it. I never smoked, am not overweight and do not have asthma. I tried all kinds of alternatives:hiking-could go just so far, hanging from a pole and Pilates. My lung function tests showed 30% loss off lung function and loss of lung tissue. I am now much better: curve down to ~30 deg ,I am working and I plan to visit Switzerland this spring. Last year went hiking in the Black Forest. It took a long time for my lung function to improve after surgery but now I am so grateful about it all.
    Karen
    Original scoliosis surgery 1956 T-4 to L-2 ~100 degree thoracic (triple)curves at age 14. NO hardware-lost correction.
    Anterior/posterior revision T-4 to Sacrum in 2002, age 60, by Dr. Boachie-Adjei @Hospital for Special Surgery, NY = 50% correction

Comment