2yr old with brace

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2yr old with brace

This is my first time posting. My son was born with scoliosis among many other problems. They have been just watching his spine and last week he began wearing a boston brace. He should be wearing it for 23 hours a day but we are having problems making him wear it. I feel so bad for him, I just cry all the time. He has been through so much so far. They say he should be able to do his normal activites but he is having alot of trouble. He has one leg shorter than the other and if he falls down he can't get up by himself. He can't get on the couch or kitchen chairs. He says it hurts to sit. I hate this. Every thing else he has is "fixable". He needs to wear it for the next five to ten years!! That is his Whole child hood practically. I am having such a hard time dealing with this for some reason.
    Any advice to get through this would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
    Michele mom to 2 1/2 yr Nathan

Hi Michelle

I see you live in Utah - I do too! PLEASE email me. I would love to get more information from you about Nathan, and give you our TLSO brace wearing experiences. Try to take this one step at a time - don't try to do it all at once. I'm anxious to hear about Nathan's other issues - he sounds like an adorable kid!

boulderfam@hotmail.com

Hope to hear from you soon!

Carmell
    Carmell
    mom to Kara, idiopathic scoliosis, Blake 19, GERD and Braydon 14, VACTERL, GERD, DGE, VEPTR #137, thoracic insufficiency, rib anomalies, congenital scoliosis, missing coccyx, fatty filum/TC, anal stenosis, horseshoe kidney, dbl ureter in left kidney, ureterocele, kidney reflux, neurogenic bladder, bilateral hip dysplasia, right leg/foot dyplasia, tibial torsion, clubfoot with 8 toes, pes cavus, single umblilical artery, etc. http://carmellb-ivil.tripod.com/myfamily/

Comment

wearing the brace

Hi Michelle,