Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• catch 22

Hi
    My son is five and under mr webb at nottingham uk. They want to do surgery but now it is a catch twenty two position as his lungs are not strong enough to recover from the anesthetic, to get them stronger he needs the surgery to stop his lungs and heart being squashed. Anyone else been in this position? Hiis next appointment with mr webb is at the end of this month and I dont klnow what I should be asking or demanding?
    Great forum by the way.
    Bye for now
    lori.

opps wrong thread i think :-) sorry!!

sorry peeps didnt see the adult bit

Comment

Little lungs

I will start with, I am not a doctor. . .

It seems to me, that if scoliosis is not progressing, it shouldn't increase your son's risk to his lungs and heart--Is it an immediate concern?

Also, a 5 year old child should have adequate lung capacity for anesthesia. In the US, pediatric surgeons operate on newborns and premies (whose lungs are not fully developed). If your child has a lung problem aside from the scoliosis, I would take him to a pulmonologist first and ask his recommendation.

Just take it one step at a time, you'll work it out.

Comment

sorry, i wasnt very clear