Post Surgery Sadness

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Post Surgery Sadness

Hi, my name is Charlotte and I had spinal fusion surgery about three weeks ago. I was completely calm approaching my surgery, but I am very upset about giving up horseback riding. I've been riding English for four years and I am an accomplished jumper. Being away from my barn and all of my friends (horse and human) has devastated me. I feel like I will fall behind the girls in my level and I miss riding dearly.

I would give anything to get back on again, so much that I'm not sure whether or not I should have had the surgery in the first place. Its really hard for me to get over it - I just want my old life back.

Has anyone else had a similar experience? Could you give me advice on how to feel better? Thanks.
    Charlotte

48 degree upper curve
    L2 to T4
    Braced for 4 years
    Surgery 2/4/04

I AM SO GLAD I READ THIS!
    Hi Charlotte-
    I am a barrel racer, my family trains and shows barrel horses for a living, and up until my surgery back in November, I spent almost every weekend at a barrel race. I do it competitively--we hit the largest barrel races in the world--and I have been very depressed by not even being able to sit on a horse since September (Sept. I had a tethered spinal cord surgery, and in Nov. had the fusion). The last time I sat on a horse was at our State Championships, and it of course was my last race for a while.
    The way I've kept occupied is just keeping up on my schoolwork, college preparations (I'm a senior this year), as well as my dance classes. It's been almost 4 months for me, and I'm allowed to do some dancing again.