Bone growth stimulator.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bone growth stimulator.

Brandi (bbest), posted a comment on my blog yesterday asking about my stim. She asked if all patients get them.
    I can't answer that for you as I'm not a doctor and have no idea if all patients get them or even if hers or yours for that matter, will give you one.
    Doc Moreno prescribed one for me and it is covered by insurance.
    I posted this yesterday as a follow up in my 3 month post-op thread but figured I'd start a new one in case people missed that or they might be getting one themselves.

--------------------
    Yesterday*

The bone guy was here finally, at like 5pm. I waited since 3:30pm for him. Traffic was sucky again due to wildfires again today.
    But this is what it looks like.

The controls to mine are on the front for it.
    It has to be worn 4 hours a day. You don't feel anything at all when wearing it. That was the first thing I asked. Does it stim like a tens unit does? I don't want to be shocked 4 hours a day...lol
    Nope, you don't feel anything at all.
    You wear it around your waist and it has a piece for front and back to stimulate bone growth.
    It can be worn with or without the brace, preferably with he said. But, after my brace comes off in June, then I can just wear it by itself.

So tonight I'm gonna give it it's first go round to get these bones a growin'.
    Later days.

EDIT* I wore it last night and already did my 4 hours today too. You don't feel anything at all and when wearing it over the brace, it's just another contraption to wear. No big deal to me. The brace is by far, more uncomfortable than this lightweight stim.
    36 year old single mom of teens ages 14 & 15.
    Anterior/posterior spinal fusion on February 9th & 16th 2006 with Dr. Anthony Moreno who now has his own practice.
    Fused from T-3 to S-1 (sacrum)
    Curve pre-op = 70 degrees
    Curve post op = 20 degrees
    No pain anymore!!