Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• just told i might need surgery

hey all.

my husband found this forum for me and i am so glad to have read your posts and seen folks' blogs. my orthopedist believes i am in need of surgery for my scoliosis. i am only at a 45 degree in T and 42 in L but the angles have increased by 5 degrees in the past year and a half and i've lost about an inch and a half of height. it's so weird to be shorter than my father after almost 20 years of being taller! i am 33 and live in chicago. seeing that popular spine doc, dr. dewald, soon.

ugh. i am terrified. i am a yoga teacher and i love my work and feel almost certain there is no way i will be able to teach if my spine is fused. i've been doing as much research as possible to educate myself, but i wish i could run away from it all. the positives of the surgery are clear to me, but i am so worried about all that i would lose. help! any feedback would be appreciated! by the way, does anyone ride a bike who is post-op? i am a bicycle commuter and know while i recover i probably can't ride my bike, but wonder if i'll be able to in the future. what do you think?

thanks everyone! sorry for the explosion of fear. i only found out a week ago and my head is still spinning.

best,
    robyn

take a deep breath and try not to panic

although your curve has progressed, it's not an emergency, you have tons of time to think this through.

regarding what you can do after a fusion, i haven't tried riding a bike but i got on a horse at 9 weeks post op (which i think answers your question). sometimes you have to adapt the way you do things, but there's very little which is actually impossible. i'm afraid you could be right about yoga, though. unfortunately, if your fusion is of substantial length, you will lose considerable flexibility.