Can this be handed down to kids?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can this be handed down to kids?

I have two sons and I'm wondering, seeing as how my scoli is so bad, can I hand this down to them?
    I know it is most prevalent in girls but boys do get it.
    Should I be getting them checked for this soon?
    I do not want them to go through years of pain like I did before finally getting help.
    If they have it, I want it treated while they are still young ya know.
    36 year old single mom of teens ages 14 & 15.
    Anterior/posterior spinal fusion on February 9th & 16th 2006 with Dr. Anthony Moreno who now has his own practice.
    Fused from T-3 to S-1 (sacrum)
    Curve pre-op = 70 degrees
    Curve post op = 20 degrees
    No pain anymore!!
    Google is your friend

I am not a doctor and will never give medical advice. I will support and answer questions from personal experience only.

Katblack, can this be handed down to kids. Research is starting to change it's mind a little about this. My nephew has scoliosis, I have scoliosis and all three on my daughters have scoliosis. One has had surgery, one wears a brace, and one was just released as a wait and watch. So, with that in mind, I would say yes it is genetic.

I would have them checked and keep them checked for it. Boys tend to not show signs of it until later as a teen because they have their growth spurt then.

Start with your pediatrician and if the boys show a sign of scoliosis go on to a pediatric orthopedic surgeon, Shriners Hospital is great.

Keep us posted how things are going.
    Nikki

Comment

Thanks.
      I was adopted so I don't know what kind of genetic things I am going to hand down and this has always been on my mind. I'm going to make them appointments once I'm out of my surgery and recovery. Then get them checked every 6 months or so.
      Nip it in the bud as soon as possible.