faantastic

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• faantastic

hey there, im a 16 yo male and i just got my 'boston' brace on thursday. Its been pretty painful, i have a 40 + degree curve in my lumbar region and was told that because of my age i dont have the time to try and get used to the brace so im on 22/7. Im australian so must have different standards over here, as i hear its 23/7 in america. At the moment im really struggling getting used to it, ive had alot of constant back pain since ive had it on, before hand i had no pain at all. But the main problem i have is sleeping with it on. I used to sleep a solid 10 hours no breaks, now i find myself struggling to get to sleep even when im dead tired, and waking several times in the night with a massive urge to take the brace off. Its getting rather hard to keep sanity at the moment, as i need a good nights rest. Any suggestions on how to make it a less painful experience?

Hi

......Just curious what part of Australia you're from??, Did you know we have a Scoliosis asssociation here http://www.scoliosis.org.au

"so im on 22/7. Im australian so must have different standards over here, as i hear its 23/7 in america"

Umm.......mate we don't particularly have different standards here, the number of hours in a brace really depends on the Doctor......what they prefer, what they have used in the past, what they are looking at to achieve etc.......whether your in the US, UK, Australia, the number of hours in a brace each day can range anywhere from 12 hours to 23 hours a day...the 'standard' for full time bracing is either 22 or 23 hours.

"Any suggestions on how to make it a less painful experience?"