Hi I am a new member

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi I am a new member

Hello. I am a female, and I just came across this site because I have been diagnosed with scoliosis since I was 16, currently I am 27. I searched on the internet for ways of improving the scoliosis and there have been lots of links to chiropractic care that can help with this kind of thing. I decided to take upon myself to go to one of these chiropractic clinic, and for the most part it has helped my neck become more moveable than before. And my pain in my muscles on my lower right have deteriorated somewhat, so now I have little pain than before. I am quite sceptical though because the chiropracter said that i should come in three times a week for 12 weeks. I thought to myself that is too much "cracking" for bones. Although I have a degree of about 50, which makes me really depressed and saddened, I don't want to make my vertrabrae suffer all of those treatments. So, I don't want to risk that.
    I am quite ashamed of wearing a bathing suit and things that cling and show the curve of my back and waist.
    I hope to make some friends in this chat room who I can relate to on this disease.

Hi Scoliogist...

I had a similar experience. When I went to see my first chiropractor, he told me that I needed to come to him 3 times a week in order to keep my curve from progressing. Unfortunately, I believed him. Since then, I've learned that chiropractic has absolutely no effect on curves. As you found, it can help with pain, but it doesn't doesn't have any effect on the natural history of the disease.

Here's a link to the abstract of a study showing just that:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/q...&dopt=Abstract

Good luck. Hope you're able to avoid surgery. If you're not able to avoid surgery, please know that it probably won't be the worse thing you'll ever experience.

Regards,
    Linda