surgery and ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• surgery and ?

Hello all. I am 32 and I am having surgery Nov. 3rd. from T4 to L4. I have a double major T-71 degrees and L-62 degrees. I don't really have a lot of pain now. my lower back does get tired really fast. Sitting or standing for 30 minutes or more makes it feel as if I have spend the day bend over and lifting heavy loads. the main reason for my surgery is just progression. My curves generally increased by about 1 degree a year over the last 10 years and they stay fairly even until the last year. 13 months ago it was T-62, L61. So my upper curve increased by 9 degrees in that time. I am okay with the surgery and the risk and such. My main concern or worry is more pain after surgery. Not surgical pain (thats expected) but more everyday back pain after the surgery. Most of my family has some kind of back problem and they just don't understand why I would have this surgery when I am not in very much pain. They have me convinced that I will regret it. Any thoughts?

Piglet

I wouldn't recommend the surgery if a person doesn't have that much pain, unless the curves are over 50 degrees such as in your case since it can be dangerous for your health and as far as pain post op(after the healing), it is different for everybody, but at least you would be more straight, and wouldn't have to worry about the scoliosis. Just a thought, it's a personal decision.
    35 y/old female from Montreal, Canada
    Diagnosed with scoliosis(double major) at age 12, wore Boston brace 4 years at least 23 hours a day-curve progressed
    Surgery age 26 for 60 degree curve in Oct. 1997 by Dr.Max Aebi-fused T5 to L2
    Surgery age 28 for a hook removal in Feb. 1999 by Dr.Max Aebi-pain free for 5 years
    Surgery age 34 in Dec.2005 for broken rod replacement, bigger screws and crosslinks added and pseudarthrosis(non union) by Dr. Jean Ouellet

Comment

Hi Piglet...