12 yr old daughter/dancer with serious S curve

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 12 yr old daughter/dancer with serious S curve

I found out today that my daughter has a 45 degree lumbar curve and a 36 degree compensating curve toward the middle of her back. I also found out today that in a physical that she had before the start of the school year the doctor noted that she had some curvature of the spine but nothing serious (his notes re-read to me today). She has grown three inches since that appointment last August (perhaps more if her spine was straight). The school sent her home with a note to have this checked out and we went back to the doctor for an X-ray and it was very apparent she has scoliosis. I am new to this and I have found this site very helpful but I have some questions.

1. The doctor we met with today was not the resident expert and he initially was going to fit my daughter with a brace and told her that more than likely it would not involve surgery. After consulting the resident expert he came back to the room and said that he was going to schedule an appointment for us with this expert and do nothing for two weeks when we can get in. This sounded to me like the diagnosis was bad enough that surgery may be the recommendation. Can someone with a similar diagnosis tell me about their treatment?
    2. Do you think the family doctor should have set a follow-up after finding this curvature?
    3. She is on a competition dance squad and won state last year. What am I looking at for her mobility with or without the surgery?
    4. If surgery is required when would she be able to dance again?

I know I am a bit premature with these questions but I want to be more informed. I have a lot more reading to do and I see the books that are out there. Your feedback is most appreciated.

Welcome to the board.