Moderate scoliosis, big rib hump

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moderate scoliosis, big rib hump

Hi, I was recently diagnosed with a relatively moderate 30 degree curve. However my rib hump is pretty huge.
    Isnt it typical to get a large rib hump only after significant scoliosis? i'm sorry i am new to scoliosis, and dont have alot of info yet.

PyCy...

The size of our rib humps is based on how much rotation there is in the thoracic vertebrae. Your rib hump could be larger than one would expect for a 30 degree curve, but I have to tell you that when it's your own hump, it always feels huge. :-)

Regards,
    Linda
    Never argue with an idiot. They always drag you down to their level, and then they beat you with experience. --Twain
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Surgery 2/10/93 A/P fusion T4-L3
    Surgery 1/20/11 A/P fusion L2-sacrum w/pelvic fixation

Comment

more questions about rib hump/rotation

Hi PyCy...

My upper curve is around 49, but the low one is about the same as you; recently I've noticed the rib area around both becoming more pronounced. I can tell because my clothes fit differently. At my most recent surgeon's appointment they measured the rotation - first time ever! I think he said it was 20. 20%? This was one thing I forgot to write down... Is this big, does anybody know?

Also, can somebody tell me, when they do fusion surgery do they also correct the rotation of the vertebrae?

Few last questions. Are the net results of rotation and kyphosis the same? Is kyphosis front-to-back scoliosis? My low spine seems to me to curve forward quite a bit, and I was wondering recently why no surgeon had ever commented on it. Does scoliosis exaggerate the normal front-to-back curves throughout the spine??

Any info most welcome. I tried to figure this out online but it still eludes me...

Thanks!!
      Laura