Pilates for Scoliosis?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pilates for Scoliosis?

Is there a modified pilates out there for people with scoliosis? I have the yoga for scoliosis tape and find it quite helpful. With so much pilates out there today it would be good to know if anyone analyzed the moves for people with scoliosis. Is anyone doing pilates regularly?

Pilates

I have been doing Pilates for over 5 years both before and after my revision surgery. I have a PERFORMER Machine at home but I have private sessions and this instructor has worked with me all that time. There are certain movements I cannot safely do-that is why I have guidance. I personally would not feel comfortable just doing it from a tape. I apply what I learned from her at home between sessions(every 2 weeks). I do feel much better after Pilates and it greatly reduced pain before surgery but did not stop my curves from progressing. My surgeon's nurse said if it doesn't feel right don't do it.
    Karen
    Original scoliosis surgery 1956 T-4 to L-2 ~100 degree thoracic (triple)curves at age 14. NO hardware-lost correction.
    Anterior/posterior revision T-4 to Sacrum in 2002, age 60, by Dr. Boachie-Adjei @Hospital for Special Surgery, NY = 50% correction

Comment

Be very careful with pilates

I have a book by Darcey Bussell (an english ballet dancer) called pilates for life. I do the stretches only which has loosened me up to my current maximum potential.

I have a lot of problems with back pain joints and muscles. I went to see a private pilates instructor who apparently had qualifications coming out of her ears and have ended up having a huge relapse.

Good luck on keeping fit though

Barbs

Comment

reply about pilates and scoliosis

i am a certified pilates instructor, and i have a scoliosis. i have the classic "hump" , one raised shoulder, one hiked hip and uneven ribcage.