First post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First post

Hello, this is my first post,though I have been lurking for a while. I have been scared, relieved, and inspired by so many things i have read here. There is so much strength expressed by everyone! I was braced for 2 years starting at age 12 and have had worsening back pain and an increasingly miserable back since then. I'm 42, working, and my back is now at 61 and 47 degrees (where is that little circle thing?) thoracolumbar curve. I have seen Dr. Errico, Dr. Lonner, Dr. Cunningham, Dr. Schwab, Dr. Propisaltis in NYC. I've been told it's inevitable and that I need fusion from T4 through S1, hoping it's only posterior but maybe anterior as well. I also have every kind of problem between discs: stenosis, spondylolisthesis, osteophytes, facet joint disease, etc. I've had every pain management technique done. I am not a fan of painkillers and try to avoid them. So I have been crying every day for 2 months at the thought of this surgery looming. I haven't officially scheduled it yet, but it will probably be in January or February 2015. I'm telling myself it will be a bad year, but that the next one will be better. I have 2 young children and the thought of not being able to pick them up, have them sit on my lap, rock them, bring them to school, participate in school functions, and scaring them with all of this is just heart breaking. I feel like I'm going to explode a bomb in their lives. I have a good support system and we will all cope together. I'm hoping this forum can add to that because no one can really know what it's like unless you've been through it.