Infection

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Infection

I had surgery in august and now I have the flu. Last Friday I started having a running nose and sneezing and it got better and sometimes worse. Now I'm coughing (I'm like at the last stage when having a flu I guess) and I'm wondering could this cause infection? What would happen if I had and infection in my back? I will contact my surgeon if I'm not getting better (but I think I am getting better).
    Last edited by Kat3573; 12-25-2012, 03:47 PM. Reason: This forum was is a different section and I added unnecessary information

Kat, I'm not a doctor, but I don't see how getting the flu could cause an infection in your back. I'm pretty sure you're okay there. I hope you feel better soon. I can imagine that your back could be sore from all that coughing, though.

Take Care.
    Be happy!
    We don't know what tomorrow brings,
    but we are alive today!

Comment

Honestly I'm not sore at all! Thanks for easing my mind!

Comment

You're welcome. =)
        Be happy!
        We don't know what tomorrow brings,
        but we are alive today!

Comment

My guess is that most infections of the back are "seeded" in the very early intra-operative and post operative time when your back is open and the incisions have not completely sealed. You are fine now from exposing your back to infection, as long there are not any open areas along your incision. Doesn't mean that there cannot be a latent infection, one that doesn't appear until much later, but you will not expose your back to you "flu" or whatever you have now.

By now, you are probably feeling better. I sure hope so! Buy some of that hand sanitizer and use it often. Don't put your fingers in your mouth. Stay away from people that are sick.
          You will be fine. Don't hesitate to write again if something bothers you and you have a question.