Teen Son recently diagonsed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Teen Son recently diagonsed

Hi: My son Jeff recently turned 16 and was diagonsed with Scoliosis in September of this year. I know that I am not the first parent to state that I was freaked out and scared to death when I first realized at home that my Son had scoliosis. It was a Friday and he had just finished his shower and bent over to pick up our dog from the floor. I happened to glance over at him, his shirt was off and I noticed that one side of his back was higher than the other. I knew right away that something was wrong. I kept my composure looked him over well and he went on his way. I have a Respiratory Therapy degree and had studied scoliosis in school and knew what it was. That weekend was the longest ever. I sat at my computer and searched the web, and had even figured out what his curve probably was. He is thin, so his spine is quite visible. We went to the peds, who confirmed and sent us for an X-ray. The Dr. called me at work and confirmed that his curve was 29 degrees, I estimated about 22. He gave me the name of a Doctor and I began to research Dr. options in my area. I actually chose a Dr. out of Children's Hospital in Detroit. I felt comfortable with my choice as I did a lot of research and actually interned at Children's myself as a student. We were able to get an appointment quickly. After another round of x-rays it was determined that my Son has a 32 degree curve as well as two smaller curves lower in the spine at 22 and 18 degrees. His chest in the front is also bowing out a bit on one side. The odd thing about my son's curve is that he looked absolutely straight from the back. The Dr. said that the curves were unusual, and it was luck that I found the curve (probably because of my training). It was not visible just looking at him.