Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bring on the reassurance, people!

Hi Everyone,

I know you are all probably sick of hearing from me by now, but I have to ask for one more pre-op favor. Can you please remind me again why I'm having this surgery? I could really use some reassurance that I am doing the right thing. I must be one of those people who will be second-guessing this as they wheel me down the hall into the OR.

Anyway, got my central line placed this morning. The nurse who had me move from the bed that they carried me in on to the bed where they placed the line said: "Are you sure you need back surgery?" I told her I have scoliosis, and said she must see people like me all the time. She said: "Usually people who are about to have back surgery don't move that well." Hmpf. This is nothing new, of course. It's just difficult to see what would happen if I DIDN'T have surgery, when I am staring surgery in the face.

Ah well. I have an 80-something degree thoracolumbar curve with documented progression in recent years. That is why. But it sure doesn't get any easier as the surgery gets closer.

Thanks (again!) everyone,
    Evelyn
    age 48
    80* thoracolumbar; 40* thoracic
    Reduced to ~16* thoracolumbar; ~0* thoracic
    Surgery 3/14/12 with Dr. Lenke in St. Louis, T4 to S1 with pelvic fixation
    Broken rods 12/1/19; scheduled for revision fusion L1-L3-4 with Dr. Lenke 2/4/2020
    Not "confused" anymore, but don't know how to change my username.

My hubby gave me the best advice the day before my surgery, "All you have to do is go to sleep tonight, wake up and go to the hospital, then go back to sleep. Dr. Lenke will take care of the hard part."

Tell Amy, your anesthesia nurse, in the morning that you do not want to be awake while going down the hall. Ask for your "special cocktail" when you see her. ;-)

Just think, in less than 24 hours you'll be on the other side! Continued prayers for you, Dr. Lenke and his team.

Warmly,