Four weeks away!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Four weeks away!

Although I've been reading these helpful forums for a long time, this is my first time to post. My surgery is scheduled for Jan. 10, 2012, with Dr. Whitaker in Wichita, KS. He is planning to do the following: "T4 - S1 and iliac wing fixation, posterior spinal fusion and instrumentation, possible decompression, possible osteotomies." What has been so helpful to me is to see the number of people that have come through this type of surgery and are now "on the other side." Being on this side -- the anticipating/dreading/fearing/wanna just get it over with side --- is not fun at all. Today has been a tough day as I've struggled with lots of fears and wondering what the recovery will really be like. I do know that I will be sent home with a brace following the surgery. I am 55 years old, have a wonderful supportive husband, two married kids, no grandkids yet (wanna get this done so I can be a grandma someday), have lots of friends that are very supportive, have a all-powerful God that I serve, but still struggling with fears. Would appreciate your prayers and any words of encouragement you could offer, especially those that have been thru this surgery and are either recovered or in the recovery process. I have been a firm believer in exercising so have continued to do that thru this "waiting period."

I was diagnosed with scoliosis when I was 18 yrs old and was told that I was finished growing and that there was nothing that could be done at this point and the scoliosis would probably just stay where it was. I have had different follow-up visits in the last 25 years and it's only been in the last several years that my curvature has gotten worse. I have very little pain, just when I clean my house!! The reason I am going ahead with this surgery is that my curves are continuing to increase and it's "time to face it", have the surgery, and move on with my life.