Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scared and more scared

Ok,

So I'm not very good at limiting myself to what information I read about scoliosis surgery. I want to know the good and bad and so far I've come up with more bad than good it seems. Although I read that many people (who were previously in a lot of pain) don't regret their decision about having the surgery, it just seems that down the road there is always some kind of complication (revision surgery, herniated disks, degenerated disks, rods hurting, etc. etc.). I feel like the surgery brings more problems! In my case, I don't have any pain but a rapidly progressing curve (2*/year) and am currently at 54*. I just can't bring myself to put myself through this - it's worrying me so much. I will talk to my doctor about all my concerns but is there truely anyone out there that is totally 'fine' after the surgery and doesn't need any more intervention or doesn't have significant pain anymore?

Sorry for my rant but I'm at my wit's end
    30 y.o female, very active, considering surgery
    08/03/11 - 54 degrees
    06/2004 - 33 degrees
    Don't like hospitals

Patty
    Yes, there are complications....the “C” word that we all need to be aware of and that’s what makes it scary. I was a Luque candidate in 1974, back in the dark ages and was an active skier so now you can see why I waited. Things today are so much better than years ago, the pedicle screw systems do address rotation and are far superior than the Harrington system.

I had twin 50’s when I was 16, and they held for many years. My extreme pain events started when I was around 41, and if I could do it over again, I would have done my surgeries around that age. I did lose my gall bladder about a year after my scoli surgeries, a rare scoliosis complication.