Four years post fusion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Four years post fusion

I've been hesitant to talk about my experiences after surgery because of quite a few complications, and it's hard to think about these last few years without getting teary, but since my outcome has been very good I feel the need to share. In addition I have just spent $300 getting all of my medical records and in reading them I understand things more. My surgery went very well - I have a 9 degree curve. I have a good fusion, nothing loose or poking through the skin. I was diagnosed with intractable pain a few weeks after discharge and accidentally over dosed with a fentanyl patch by a local pain control dr. I had to be readmitted to figure out a drug regimen to control the pain. I have very little memory of the 4 weeks after the surgery. I was feeling much better, got the flu and passed out hitting my night stand and reopening my incision. The local ER wouldn't touch me so Dr. Lonner had me shipped to the city to resuture my back. When 3 months went by I started PT and work simultaneously. PT worked me too hard (they never treated anyone with such a large fusion) and I ended up with piriformis syndrome and sciatic pain. I could not accelerate my car because of the pain and it became more and more painful. I stopped working because of pain and exhaustion. I found out later that I was also very anemic and my primary did not treat it. I kept researching and found a practice in NY that treated piriformis syndrome and responded very well and gradually healed completely in combination with Lyrica. By the summer of 2008 I made arrangements to go back to work and a week or two after vacation developed a fever and what I thought was piriformis irritation. Instead I had a spinal abscess and was taken by ambulance to NYU where it took 3 hours to drain and flush out the area-also yet another 6-8inch incision. I was diagnosed with MRSE (staph epidermis as opposed to aureus) My blo