doctor and facility

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• doctor and facility

I recently had my first ever surgical consults in NYC (indicated on another thread, perhaps digressively. I'm not too good at this )
    Surgeons: Federico Girardi (HSS), Thomas Errico (Bone and Joint Disease) and Michael Neuwirth (Beth Israel).

About Neuwirth - same as a male poster (who ended going with Dr. Neiwirth, regardless), I am concerned about his facility far more than him. (He seems on top of his game, straightforward and pleasant.
    HOWEVER, like aforementioned poster, I worry about Beth Israel!

Beth Israel (his arena) was recently profiled in the NY times as an example of the value of comparing hospitals. Their mortality rates are MUCH worse than the better NY hospitals. The comparisons were made quid pro quo - ie. same type of surgery across facilities.

Seems to me if I'm going to be very low in resistance after this grave "bodily insult" (love that expression), and thus at extra high risk to germs , especially the notoriously resistant hospital bugs Studies looking at complications, all list infection as one of the greatest risks of scoliosis surgery – especially long fusions like mine. (T4 – to pelvis.).

Seems I'd be better off in a more highly rated facility - not just re hygiene, but the many other factors that help the patient mend.

For example, in my case, I have a sleep disorder, and if I go to a 24/7 noisy, bright facility (I've been there with more trivial surgery) it could push me over the edge in recovering. I get to where I CANT sleep from exhaustion and I imagine there are already factors mitigating against sleep after this surgery (like pain? ).

Dr. Neuwirth would be doing P/A up to five (or more??) days apart - separated according to HIS convenience in fitting in the second op ().

Sheesh, you'd think such a serious op would require a surgeon to do what was most healthy FOR THE PT!