Returning to work

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Returning to work

I've been posting tons of questions recently, because I am in the process of scheduling my surgery and I am nervous. I work in the law enforcement field and have a question about returning to work in a field that can pose potential trauma to your body. I sit in a police vehicle for 10 hours and then can asked to run or fight a person. The doctors have not given me a straight answer about returning to work, ever! Has anybody returned to work after surgery? Any information would be appreciated. My doctor has taken me off work for the next three months, because he said that my curve has progressed significantly in the last 2 years. went to almost nothing to 48 degrees in the lumbar area. If anybody has any info, I would greatly appreciate it.

Hi Rich

Absolutely not!

Fighting is out of the question. You can crack a fusion, and need revision surgery. Fusions can crack rotationally, especially with the leverage from your arms.

Sorry to be so blunt, but its the truth.

This is called getting all your "ducks in a row" before surgery. Everything needs to be thought out.

We all sacrifice with scoliosis. I had to do major planning and sacrifice for my surgery.

Adaptability is something that needs to be learned. Change is difficult, once you have done it, its generally a piece of cake.

Ed
    49 yr old male, now 63, the new 64...
    Pre surgery curves T70,L70
    ALIF/PSA T2-Pelvis 01/29/08, 01/31/08 7" pelvic anchors BMP
    Dr Brett Menmuir St Marys Hospital Reno,Nevada

Bending and twisting pics after full fusion
    http://www.scoliosis.org/forum/showt...on.&highlight=

My x-rays
    http://www.scoliosis.org/forum/attac...2&d=1228779214

http://www.scoliosis.org/forum/attac...3&d=1228779258

Comment

Rich,