flu shot after spinal surgery?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• flu shot after spinal surgery?

My daughter had surgery end of july--and confused about whether or not she should have a flu shot (regular-not swine) ---someone mentioned concern it could cause an infection, yet her surgeon said OK- has anyone else received any guidance about what to do/not do in the few months preceding the operation? thanks--

I can't imagine how a flu shot could cause a bacterial infection, but I'm not a health professional. I wouldn't hesitate to get the shot if the doctor said it's OK.
    Never argue with an idiot. They always drag you down to their level, and then they beat you with experience. --Twain
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Surgery 2/10/93 A/P fusion T4-L3
    Surgery 1/20/11 A/P fusion L2-sacrum w/pelvic fixation

Comment

Hi,
      My experience was that 5 weeks before my surgery, I came down with a terrible cold and they wouldn't give me a flu shot while I had symptoms. I had a cough right up until my surgery date. They wouldn't give me one while I was in the hospital and after I was recovering, it was too late to find anyone who had a flu shot to give. If your surgeon says it's OK, I would go for it.
      Sally
      Diagnosed with severe lumbar scoliosis at age 65.
      Posterior Fusion L2-S1 on 12/4/2007. age 67
      Anterior Fusion L3-L4,L4-L5,L5-S1 on 12/19/2007
      Additional bone removed to decompress right side of L3-L4 & L4-L5 on 4/19/2010
      New England Baptist Hospital, Boston, MA
      Dr. Frank F. Rands735.photobucket.com/albums/ww360/butterflyfive/

"In God We Trust" Happy moments, praise God. Difficult moments, seek God. Quiet moments, worship God. Painful moments, trust God. Every moment, thank God.

Comment