Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Halo Traction and Spinal Fusion

Hi all
    This is my first time posting here. I found this forum by chance while looking up info on scoliosis and have read through some of the posts and have found some to be very helpful.
    My son, Geno is 11 years old, will be 12 on July 22nd and is scheduled for Halo Traction application on July 13th and then Posterior Spinal fusion October 26th. Both will be performed at Shriners Hospital where his father and myself will actually be staying with him in his hospital room through the entire 4 month stay. (including recovery time)
    Along with his Scoliosis, he also has Arthrogryposis Multiplex Congenita and is unable to walk. I have not read of anyone else that has gone through these surgeries with Arthrogryposis so far, but I've read that it often helps for patients to get up and walk around, etc... he cannot do that, which of course makes me worry a bit. As far as the Scoliosis is concerned, he has a 130 degree curve and the his fusion will begin at T2 and end at the sacrum.
    I guess I am just looking for any feedback from anyone , any advice for the long hospital room stay etc. as well and of course, from all who believe, prayer.
    Thanks so much in advance.

-Geno's mom

Hi Geno's Mom,

I'm sorry I can't help you with your questions as my daughter who has scoliosis has not had surgery. I think it's wonderful that you and your husband are going to be allowed to stay with your son during his entire hospital stay. I think Shriners is an absolutely wonderful organization.

I just wanted to let you know that I started praying for your son yesterday and will continue to do so. Please keep us updated. God bless you and your son.

Comment