Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rod Removal Monday--AHHH

Hello guys,
    I want to thank everyone for all the information and experiences you have shared. This is my first time writing in and I am a bit nervous, I am having my rods taken out on Monday the 22nd. I got them placed when I was DX with scoliosis in 1991 when I was 14, now at 32 the pain has become unbearable. I have been very active and I hate not being able to do all I want to do. My back is a mess, but they plan on taking the rods out to see if that helps with the pain. I hope so otherwise I wont know what to do. The right rod came out of place at the bottom when I was runnng track in college, since I did hurdles my coach told me they could not be liable so that was the end of that and the beginning of chronic pain. So now it hurts all the time and it hurts when I bend over, which I think is a different problem with my back. The doctors dont want to talk about fusing the rest of me because they said I should take the pain as long as I can before doing the full fusion as my quality of life would change. Another doctor was ready to fuse all of me so this at least is a more conservative approach.

I wonder how my healing is going to be. I am living in Pensacola, but I am driving all the way to TX to do my surgery. I feel more comfortable doing this as they specialize in scoliosis and no one in FLorida does. My husband is staying for 1 week and then I will stay with my family. If anyone has had these rods removed, how long will it take for my body to heal. I want to fly home as I dont think I will be up for a 10 hour drive and need to book a flight home. I appreciate feedback from anyone.
    Also, will I be laid out in bed or will I be mobile? Can I go places or will I be at home just watching movies.

Thank you
    Angela

Angela.