Questions before surgery

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions before surgery

Hi, I am new to the fourm (posting), I have been reading this forum since 2004. This forum is great and I have learned a lot. In 2004 my daughter, Jess, was diagnosed with a curve of 34 with a compensatory lower curve. She now has a thoracic curve of 45-48. She claims she has pain and schedule surgery for May 28. I am really against this but we are moving forward. I have a couple of questions. 1. They want to give her 4 shots, one a week before surgery to produce more blood - is this procedure. 2. Do more people use there own bone or cadaver. Her doctor uses cadaver. 3. Should we do pre-op at the hospital or her regular doctor. 4. We have an appointment Monday to talk to the doctor, any questions I should ask? Thanks for your help!

Hi...

Is your daughter having her procedure at a university hospital? I haven't heard about anyone who has had the shots to produce more blood, and wonder if the surgeon is including your daughter in a study. (If that's the case, she should have been informed of it.) I would definitely question the surgeon about this issue, and try to ensure that there would be no detrimental effects from the drug.

I don't think it will make any difference where the preop is performed. If they're giving your daughter the option, she should do it wherever it's most convenient.

Good luck!

Regards,
    Linda
    Never argue with an idiot. They always drag you down to their level, and then they beat you with experience. --Twain
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Surgery 2/10/93 A/P fusion T4-L3
    Surgery 1/20/11 A/P fusion L2-sacrum w/pelvic fixation

Comment

Originally posted by Stac;
      I am really against this but we are moving forward. I have a couple of questions.