Scoliosis Revision Surgery

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scoliosis Revision Surgery

Hi, My name is Phyllis B. and this is my first time participating in this venue. I am 66 yrs old and in need of revision surgery. My original surgery (anterior & posterior fusion with Harrington rod was in 1989. I've experienced a pretty good life until the last few years when I began to notice numbness, weakness, heavyness in my leg. I've since had a laminectomy & several injections to various joints/nerves to no avail. I also just underwent a cervical laminectomy which took me 3 mos to recover from. This brings me to a suggestion that I see Dr. Boachi in New York at the hospital for special surgeries. He told me that I needed revision surgery including removing a part of my original fusion and then continuing it down to the sacrum. We were told that he does not participate with any insurance and that his fee must be paid in full prior to the surgery. I am wondering if anyone has come across this situation and do you know of any grants or foundations that would help subsidize the $80 or $90.000 amount. Also, does anyone know of any other spine surgeons in or around the East coast who does this type of surgery & would participate with insurance. I am hoping that someone who reads this will have some suggestions. Thanks, Phyllis

Hi Phyllis...

It doesn't get much better than Dr. Boachie, but Frank Rand in Boston also does a lot of revision surgery.

http://www.spineuniverse.com/mdpage.php?doctorID=320

I suspect that you already know this, but thought I'd say it anyway. Although Dr. Boachie doesn't accept insurance reimbursement, most plans allow you to go out of network, and they will pay something like 80% of reasonable fees. Unfortunately, that could still amount to a lot of $.

Best of luck.

Regards,
    Linda
    Never argue with an idiot. They always drag you down to their level, and then they beat you with experience. --Twain