Bone for fusion - any input

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bone for fusion - any input

I'm a fairly new member although I have been reading this board since my 15 year old son was diagnosed in June. (And, thanks Mary Lou for your response to my question regarding his doctor.)

He is scheduled for surgery in November. My question is - what are your thoughts on the bone graft? Is it better to take bone from my son (doctor said he would take it from his pelvis) or to use "bone in a jar" (as the doctor calls it)?

The doctor says he generally prefers to use a bone from the patient, but then recovery tends to be longer. So, he is not opposed to using sterilized bone that is not from my son.

(Hope my terminology is correct. I'm still fairly new at this!)

If you have any insights, I'd sure appreciate them.

Thanks.

I tend to reserch my condition quite alot, and the reason doctors prefere to use bone from the patient is because it is less likely he would get an infection during the process. Hope I helped!
    40-50 upper curve

20-30 lower curve

surgery August 10!

Comment

Bone from the patient 'takes' better than 'donor bone'. They used bone from my daughters hip (they also did thoracoplasty). I don't think her recovery to date has been much different to anyone elses.
      I hope this helps.
      Best wishes.
      Cheryl.

Comment

Hi Bill's Mom...

Although there is a TINY risk of infection from donor bone, it's not something that I would personally worry about. (The donor bone is sterilized before it's used.) There is, as Cheryl mentioned, a higher risk that fusion won't take when donor bone is used.

I would personally say that the scales are about balanced on this issue. If your son's surgeon has a clear preference, I'd definitely take that into consideration.

Good luck!

Regards,
        Linda
        Never argue with an idiot. They always drag you down to their level, and then they beat you with experience. --Twain