Help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help!

ok im getting my brace thursday and i have some ?'s. will i need new shirts to fit over my brace? do i put camis on over my brace or under it? will i need an undershirt or no? what is the most comfy way to sleep? please answer as many as you want. THANK YOU!
    They Call me Laura
    Im 13 years old
    I have a mild 23 degree cruve

New Brace

What kind of brace are you getting? Spencer was in a TLSO for about a year and a half and we found undershirts were very important. They help protect the skin from abrasion by the brace and they help protect the brace from body oils and odor. Spencer is so small that the brace actually made his clothes fit better so we did not need to get new shirts for him. lol. Now that he has no brace his clothes all look baggy.
    Spencer's Dad

11 year old boy with PMD Luekodystrophy
    Nonambulatory, nonverbal, nonweight bearing
    VRO and Pemberton hip reconstruction at age 5
    Nissen fundo at at age 7
    Subdermal spinal drug pump at age 9
    Complete Spinal Fusion Jan. 9, 2007 at age 10.
    118 degree curve before surgery - less than 25 after!!

Comment

I always wear a cami over AND under it. The one under it keeps it from rubbing against my skin cuz that hurts and the one over it makes it look smoother. I think I have a minnesota brace...something like that.
      You will DEFINATELY need new shirts, unless all your shirts are loose. You will also want to make sure you wear T-shirts UDNER your brace at night, because I got this really bad heat rash this summer from wearing regular cami-type shirts underneath and it is FINALLY clearing up. The brace will really irritate your skin if your not careful!! At night, i have found it is most comfortable to sleep on your back. It keeps the pressure from the brace off of the top of you.