Social Security Questions???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Social Security Questions???

Hi, I had a spinal fusion approx 2 months ago. I have had severe complications on my right side with severe decrease in motor skills of my right foot and severe nerve damage of the L5. I work in the law enforcement field and have to pass an intense PT course with full gear approx. 60 lbs. running and doing various other exercises. There is no way at this time I will be able to return to work. EMG has proved severe nerve damage as stated above. Problem here is that I have short term disability for only 6 months and then nothing. What are my options with SS? When can I apply for SS? I cannot afford to be without pay after that 6 month period. This is really beginning to affect my mental state. I am 30 years old and Dr. that did the EMG stated in his report there is a possibility that I may not get anything back in that nerve or hardly anything if at all. I am in intense physical therapy right now to try to improve my strength. I can only walk about a half a mile on the treadmill before my foot and leg fatigues and foot starts to drag. Please help. I need to know what my options are. I am going with all my records to another neurosurgeon this friday for a second opinion on everything. Thanks in advance. Jeremy

Hi Jeremy...

I'm really sorry to hear your story. :-(

Your surgeon's office may be able to help you with disability. Is there any possibility of working in a non-physical job for the force?

--Linda
    Never argue with an idiot. They always drag you down to their level, and then they beat you with experience. --Twain
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Surgery 2/10/93 A/P fusion T4-L3
    Surgery 1/20/11 A/P fusion L2-sacrum w/pelvic fixation

Comment