Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chiropractic care for scoliosis?

Hi,

Im new to this forum and I'm sure this topic has been discussed before but I would love to hear from all of you. I was wondering if anyone has had chiropractic care for their scoliosis and if it has helped reduce the curve or even just with alleviating pain. I am 22 this year and I have a 43 degree curve (if i remember correctly). I do not experience any back aches or pains, unless I was doing something where I am bent over for a while. However, I try to avoid such activities so I virtually feel no pain. I am curious about chiropractic care because I would like to seek an alternative treatment, as I was told I do not need surgery, and that is definitely a last resort for me. Also, is chiropractic care expensive if not covered by insurance? By the way, I live in Michigan, US.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Hi Angeline...

Chiropractic care cannot reduce your curvature. It may, however, reduce any pain you might have in the future. I tried chiropractic care three times a week for almost a year. Unfortunately, I actually had an increase in pain. I really wanted to believe the chiropractor was helping, but eventually had to admit that it was not.

I've found a huge variation in how much chiropractors charge, so there's no way of knowing what it will cost until you've actually identified the specific chiropractor.

Regards,
    Linda
    Never argue with an idiot. They always drag you down to their level, and then they beat you with experience. --Twain
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Surgery 2/10/93 A/P fusion T4-L3
    Surgery 1/20/11 A/P fusion L2-sacrum w/pelvic fixation

Comment