Thread: looking for pain meds that work!!!

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Question looking for pain meds that work!!!

Hello, I'm very happy that i am on this site! I'v never talked to anyone with similar problems. I'm 30 years old and had the herrington rod (fusion) when i was 15. I've been doing pretty well for the last ten years with just ocasional lower back pain,until dec 04, I was in a car accident and have been in terrible pain every since. I have a broken rod in my lower back that has moved about 1/4 of an inch (my rod was broke previously due to lower fusion not taking). Anyways i've been seeing alot of doctors recently and finally am going to a pain clinic. I have tried percocet, morphine sulfate, darvocet, vicoden and numerouse muscle relaxers none seem to work. Ive always worked hard and have never been a complainer, but i just cant seem to get my doctor to understand what i'm going thru, I know i need surgery (new hardware) and the doctor keeps telling me to have it done. I dont like sitting at home every day, basically does anyone know of a miracle drug?

Hi Alaskan...

You might check out Duragesic (fentanyl) patches. They're expensive and I think some insurance companies won't cover them, but I've heard only great things about them.

If you know you're going to have to have surgery, I guess I'd encourage you to have it sooner rather than later. Long term use of narcotics can make recovery more difficult.

Regards,
    Linda