Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Janzen Bracing System for JIS

Janzen Bracing System for JIS

I am new to this forum. Just over 4 months ago, our two children were thriving as far as we knew, and we were doing what normal families do. Then, 4 months ago, scoliosis with largest curve of 24 degrees was confirmed in my son of 5 years old. We thought we should get our daughter checked as well, and a couple weeks ago an S-curve in my 8 year old daughter was confirmed with 19 and 20 degree curves. I've done a ton of research and we found an amazing treatment center. Our son has been in a brace since late August and our daughter is being fitted for a brace as I write this.

I plan to write more on this thread, but here is my recent comment on another thread to a person that was understandably skeptical of the bracing method that we have chosen:

I understand your skepticism. I am a physical therapist who is very skeptical of a lot of chiropractic methods, and I am a skeptic in general.

Our son has a 24 degree curve that was identified in July this year and he is only 5 years old. I read all the pertaining peer-reviewed literature that I could find for scoliosis treatment, and was deflated to find that I would just be told to wait and see if it gets worse. We were referred to Shriner’s near where we live in Washington State, but we didn't go. In doing my online searches, I came across this place in California that claimed to be not only preventing progression of curves, but significantly reducing them with a bracing technique that is entirely their own. Compared to the literature, there claims seemed to be too good to be true. In addition, the person behind this is a chiropractor, so I initially dismissed this as fake.