Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Calling for help: Oral Histories of Scoliosis

Hello all,

I'm using my mom's old account, because I've been having difficulty getting mine activated. So if anyone here happens to remember Sherie from around 2007...just know that this is actually Shina, her daughter. :^)

I wasn't sure if I should post this here or in the section for adult patients, but I'm looking for people in the central Texas region (Austin, San Antonio, and anything in that surrounding area...could also possibly do Houston, though it could be a logistical challenge for me) who would be willing to help me with my research! I am a graduate student of history, and my area of focus right now is the history of scoliosis--and back problems, in general.

I had the surgery myself, and also underwent bracing, so this topic is very near and dear to my heart. I've found that we're a very poorly represented group in academic history, so I would like to change that. Unfortunately, that means I have to dig a little harder than some of my colleagues to find sources. That's where I would greatly appreciate some help from the scoliosis community!

One of the courses that I'm in right now is having us conduct "oral histories". This might sound like an interview, but it's more like a conversation where someone tells me about some aspect of their life (think kitchen table chats between a parent/grandparent and their child/grandchild). I'm looking for two people who would be willing to share their past experiences with scoliosis. I do have a few requirements for this:
    1. Must be someone who either had surgery, or at least has a curve severe enough that it would merit surgery.